8 Ministers sworn in.

Eight Ministers who sworn in yesterday at the Government House.

A total of 8 Ministers took their Oath of Allegiance and Oath of Office today at the Government House.

They are;

(a)     Hon. Hon. Ishmael Avui, MP as Minister for Development, Planning and Aid Coordination;

(b)     Hon. Maeue Augustine Auga, MP Minister for Agriculture and Livestock Development;

(c)     Hon. Nestor Ghiro, MP as Minister for Provincial Government and Institutional Strengthening;

(d)     Hon. Bradley Tovosia, MP as Minister for Minister for Forestry and Research;

(e)     Hon. Moses Gharu, MP as Minister for Minister for Home Affairs;

(f)     Hon. Jimson Fiau Tanagada, MP  as Minister for Police, National Security and Correctional Services;

(g)     Hon. Dickson Mua, MP– Minister for Minister for Mines, Energy and Rural Electrification; and

(h)     Hon. Duddley Kopu, MP – Minister for Rural Development and Indigenous Affairs..

Out of the 8 new Ministers who had sworn in, Hon. Moses Gharu, MP and Hon. Dikson Mua, MP are the returning members who have resigned over the weekend.

Speaking about why they decided to return to the DCCG side, they mentioned that whilst the DCCG has only one year left, joining the opposition will make no positive difference in the development of policies.

According to Hon. Dickson Mua, MP, there is no justified reason as to why there should be a new government but only to remove the current Prime Minister and eventually struggling over who is going to be the next Prime Minister, something that is not of National interest.

The swearing in ceremony was witnessed by the Prime Minister, several members of Cabinet, Government Caucus and senior Government Officials.

This came as a result of the resignations of several former Ministers who defected and joined the Opposition camp.

Amidst these resignations, a Motion of No-Confidence (MNC) has been submitted to be debated in Parliament next week.

Meanwhile, in a statement from the Prime Minister Hon. Manasseh Sogavare, MP says that the motion comes in light of the defections’ unknown motives relevant to the Anti- Corruption Bill (ACB) and to cover up for lack of performance by the former Ministers.

The Prime Minister says,

“The DCCG has progressive view of the ACP. Detractors have a cyclical and inconsistent view to this which is highlighted by the diverging statements which confirm the Defectors have no intention of passing the ACB until before the end of 2018 while the Opposition Group verified their support for the ACB to be passed yet stopped short of saying when.”

“It has been clear to me through caucus and cabinet meetings the defectors were anti-ACB.” He says.

In response to Hon. Maelanga’s comments in the media, the statement from the Office of the Prime Minister and Cabinet said that whilst Hon. Mealanga said he is committed to the bill with some work still to be done on it the question he should answer to is “When are you going to pass the bill?”

The Prime Minister reiterated;

“We have to go back to the RAMSI Review Report after its first 3 years of operations that one of the underlying reasons for the tensions was rampant corruption in government. It seems detractors haven’t learnt from past mistakes.”

The Prime Minister also stated;

“The defectors say they have no confidence in me and are unhappy with the Chief of Staff who is just doing his job as an employee under my directions and that of Cabinet and Caucus as an employee which does not justify an MNC due to the fact that he can be relieved of duty without provoking political instability.”

The core DCCG MP’s remain strong and are “confident” that the national interest will prevail over self-serving agenda’s which is why former Ministers are returning to assume Ministerial portfolios.

The DCCG believes and wants to reiterate that political stability is paramount to progress and development.